Conference Speakers

Simon Allen

SRM Project Director

Sir Robert McAlpine

Andrew Baillie

Chair of Self-Harm Reduction SLWG & Assistant Head of Capital Planning

NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde.

Trudi Beswick


Caudwell Children

Oisin Bishenden

Chief Executive Officer

Book of Beasties Ltd.

Molly Bonnell

Project Curator

Hospital Rooms

Prof. Steven Brown

Design in Mental Health Network

Alessandro Caruso

Managing Director and Principal

Alessandro Caruso Architecture and Interiors Ltd

Gary Charlton

Design in Mental Health Network

Bonnie Chu

Healthcare Design Director


Laura Delgado-Pinilla

Senior Architect

Medical Architecture

Andy Donoghue

Associate Director of Estates and Facilities

Derbyshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Carla Figueiredo

Consultant Psychiatrist, Dorset Eating Disorder Service

Dorset HealthCare University NHS FT

Karen Flatt

Architect – Mental Health Lead

IBI Group

Ian Garlington

Integrated Programme Director

South West London & St George's Mental Health NHS

David Gibson

Compliance and Governance Manager

Bradford District Care NHS Foundation Trust

Harriet Gladwell-Phillips

STEP General Manager

Springfield and Tolworth Estate Partnership

Robin Graham

Associate Director

Gilling Dod Architects

Susan Grant

Principal Architect

NHSScotland Assure

Benjamin Harbron

Project Manager

The IAD Company

Louise Harder

Brand Communications Consultant

The Brand Sculptor

Andrea Harman

Concept Developer

Saint-Gobain Ecophon Ltd

Kevin Healey

Expert by Experience

Sarah Hughes

Chief Executive

Centre for Mental Health

Franz James

Senior lecturer and Designer

University of Gothenburg

Rosemary Jenssen


Jenssen Architecture Ltd

Omar Jomeen

Healthcare Director

Galliford Try

Lianne Knotts

Medical Architecture

Cath Lake


P+HS Architects

Katherine Lazenby

Senior People Participation Lead

East London Foundation Trust

Rebecca Lewis-Chapman


The IAD Company

Richard Mazuch

Director of Design Research and Innovation

IBI Group

Sarah McCullough

Capital Project Manager

Pennine Care Foundation Trust

Martha McSweeney

Pre Construction Manager

Galliford Try

Siphiwe Mnguni

Project Curators

Hospital Rooms

Kent Muirhead

Design Principal


Geoff Neild

Programme Director

Derbyshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Sepideh Olausson

Senior Lecturer in Critical Care

Sahlgrenska Academy

Stephen Parker

Behavioral Health Planner


Naddy Parperi

Healthcare Partner


Deborah Payne

Home Manager

L&M Healthcare

Francis Pitts



John Plum

Project Director

Blu Building Consultants

Becki Priest

Deputy Director of Practice and Transformation

Derbyshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Paula Reavey

Professor of Psychology and Mental Health

MSc Mental Health & Clinical Psychology London South Bank University

Nick Richards

Project Officer and Lived Patient Experience Lead

Derbyshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Mark Richardson

Head of Sustainability and Innovation


Timothy Rommel


Cannon Design Inc

David Ross


Keppie Design

Philip Ross

Chief Executive Director

Safehing Primera

Alexandru Senciuc

Senior Architect

Medical Architecture

Dalia Shilony

Interior Designer

Nick Smith

Former Service User

Missing Peace Wellness and Support

Sean Taylor



Ian Tearle

Senior Service Line Lead Forensic Services

Hertfordshire Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust

Phil Tottman

Head of Development

Book of Beasties

Harsh Trivedi

President and Chief Executive Officer

Sheppard Pratt

Sara Wengert AIA, ASID

Principal-in-Charge and Lead Interior Designer


Steve Wilson



Paul Yeomans


Medical Architecture